Sustain Wales Awards 2016

Conservation Manager, Rob (left) and Trustee, Alexis (Right) at the awards

Conservation Manager, Rob (left) and Trustee, Alexis (Right) at the awards

Sustain Wales Winner's Badge

Sustain Wales Winner's Badge

This month Sustain Wales celebrated some of the leading organisations and individuals in Wales championing sustainability. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Llyr Gruffydd AM, took place in the Senedd in Cardiff Bay to an audience of national and international businesses working to create a more sustainable Wales.

The Awards, hosted by Actor and Cynnal Cymru Principal Consultant, Rhodri Thomas highlighted 30 of the best organisations and individuals who have undertaken outstanding work to help achieve Cynnal Cymru’s mission of making Wales a sustainable nation

The Wildlife Trust of South and West Wales won the Public Sector Award for the Sustainable Project – Healthy Hillsides. The project is an on-going partnership project with Natural Resources Wales, South Wales Fire & Rescue Service & Rhondda Cynon Taf!

Cynnal Cymru were inspired by the 67 applications received from organisations across Wales. It was the role of an expert judging panel consisting of Former Premier of South Australia, Hon Mike Rann AC; Head of Policy and Innovation at the Future Generations Commissioners Office, Rita Singh, and Chair of Cynnal Cymru - Sustain Wales, Derek Osborn, to score all of the amazing applications and narrow down the highly commended finalists. Since September over 11,300 individual votes were cast by the public which selected the winners of each of the categories of the awards.

Yesterday afternoon, before the awards Cynnal Cymru, as the leading organisation for sustainable development in Wales also hosted a roundtable to encourage the finalists and sponsors to come together to continue the collaboration which could lead to tomorrow’s innovative and sustainable solutions.

Mari Arthur, Director of Cynnal Cymru said

“The Sustain Wales Awards provide the perfect opportunity to congratulate organisations on their achievements each year in making Wales a more sustainable nation. Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all our sponsors - University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Acuity Legal, Principality Stadium, Interserve, Dwr Cymru – Welsh Water, The Open University, Griffiths, Melin Homes, Wales Online and Enterprise Rent a Car. The Sustain Wales Awards are fast becoming a prestigious event in the Welsh calendar.”

The winners in the eleven categories are:

  • Sustainable Business of the Year – Halen Mon – Anglesey Sea Salt
  • Sustainable Community Group – Gwern y Domen Conservation Group
  • Public Sector Award Sustainable Project – Healthy Hillsides (Natural Resources Wales, Wildlife Trust South & West Wales, SW Fire & Rescue Service & Rhondda Cynon Taf)
  • Sustainable School – Burry Port Community Primary School
  • Sustainable Social Enterprise – Pembrokeshire Coastal Forum
  • Sustainable Venue – Principality Stadium
  • Sustainability Champion – Iain Cox
  • Sustainable Innovation -  Dwr Cymru – Welsh Water
  • Sustainable Further Education/Higher Education Institution – Bangor University
  • Go Green Day – Minuteman Press Cardiff
  • Special Recognition Award– Margaret Minhinnick

There were a number of finalists awarded a highly commended certificate for their outstanding work. These are:

  • Alexandra Wall
  • Trish Hoddinott
  • Thornhill Primary School
  • Dragon LNG
  • Aberystwyth University
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Ty Mawr Lime
  • Venue Cymru
  • Llanelli Rural Council
  • Principality Building Society
  • Enterprise Rent a Car
  • Datblygiadau Egni Gwledig (DEG)
  • Ynni Ogwen Cyf
  • Awel Co-operative
  • Lia’s kitchen
  • Port of Milford Haven
  • Newport City Homes
  • South Wales Police and Crime Commissioner