Date(s) - 26 Aug 2017
8:00 AM - 3:30 PM
During the 1960’s and 70’s coal was excavated from Parc Slip using open cast coal mining methods. Before that, coal was dug from the Parc Slip drift mine, but sadly, in 1892 an explosion in the mine took the lives of 112 men and boys. Saturday 26th August will mark the 125th anniversary of the explosion which happened at 8:20am. Join The Wildlife Trust at their Parc Slip Nature Reserve and Visitor Centre for a day of remembrance, talks and heritage walks.
Starting at 8:20am at the memorial fountain, Parc Slip.
Breakfast at Parc Slip’s visitor centre (please book – contact Anne via 01656 726992).
Exhibition by Parc Slip Memorial Committee, in the Discover room.
New self-guided heritage trail around the reserve available.
A talk at 2pm from Carole and John Mason based on Agnes Owen’s reminiscences of the Parc, entitled ‘Charlie..one man’s story’.
A talk at 2:30pm by Neville Granville ‘The Parc Slip Explosion’.