All Day Surveys 2016

A fantastic opportunity to join researchers from the Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre on an All Day (minimum 8 hour) marine mammal survey in Cardigan Bay with Dolphin Survey Boat Trips. Throughout the survey researchers from CBMWC will collect important information on marine species in Cardigan Bay and the surrounding waters.

This is a great opportunity to see some of Wales’ amazing coastal views as well as our wonderful marine and seabird life. By joining a survey trip you will be contributing to marine conservation in Cardigan Bay as well as having the unique opportunity to join our team of experts.

All day trips provide avid wildlife watchers with the opportunity to see Cardigan Bay’s Big Three: bottlenose dolphins, harbour porpoises and Atlantic grey seals (seal pups on surveys during the pupping season September/October).

As well as the Cardigan Bay BIG 3 sightings in previous years have included, but are not limited to, common dolphins, sunfish, numerous jellyfish species, possible Minke whale sightings and sightings of thresher sharks. For those keen twitchers there were many wonderful sightings of sea birds including gannets, Manx shearwaters, razorbills, guillemots, fulmars, puffins (and pufflings), skuas, scoters, petrels and occasional views of other shearwater species, great views of nesting auk colonies, in particular on New Quay headland, a fantastic sight from April until end of June when the adults and their chicks head out to sea.

DSBT Anna Lloyd by Milly Metcalfe

Dolphin Survey Boat Trips boat, Anna Lloyd out on survey in Cardigan Bay

How to book

Survey trips are run by and conducted aboard Dolphin Survey Boat Trips’ new motor vessel, Anna Lloyd. Anna Lloyd is a state of the art catamaran, famous for their increased stability and thus perfect for long days at sea. Anna Lloyd is licensed to carry 12 passengers and is equipped with all necessary safety equipment, a part-sheltered deck and toilet.

2016 dates:

March

Thursday 24th March
April
Saturday 2nd April
Friday 15th April
Friday 29th April
May
Friday 6th May
Saturday 14th May
Saturday 28th May (moved to Monday 30th May)
Monday 30th May
June
Friday 3rd June
Wednesday 15th June
Friday 24th June
July
Saturday 2nd July
Saturday 9th July
Wednesday 13thth July
Wednesday 20th July
Sunday 24th July
Friday 29th July
August
Wednesday 3rd August
Sunday 7th August
Saturday 13th August
Sunday 21st August
Monday 29th August
September
Saturday 3rd September
Wednesday 14th September
Sunday 25th September
October
Wednesday 5th October
Sunday 16th October
Saturday 29th October

Please note in addition to scheduled dates, we may also run All Day surveys at short notice to take advantage of any ideal weather conditions. If you would like to be included on a mailing list to be notified of these short notice surveys then please contact CBMWC on info@cbmwc.org.

We also recommend that you keep an eye on our website, Facebook page and Twitter feeds for updates.

For more details and to book your place on one of these unique boat trips please call CBMWC on 01545 560032 between 10am and 4pm. The cost is £60 per person for the day, payable in advance. Full refunds will be given if trips are cancelled by Dolphin Survey Boat Trips. Places must be booked in advance due to limited spaces. All trips will depart from New Quay harbour and will last approximately 8 hours (occasionally longer depending on survey route for the day).

These long trips run subject to the weather conditions forecast, a decision whether the trip will go ahead will be made as soon as possible but to avoid disappointment we try to make the decision as close to the departure date as possible (usually 20-48 hours before departure), they are subject to last minute cancellation. We will always do our best to contact all passengers booked and therefore rely on passengers providing us with the appropriate contact detail. We also ask that all passengers contact the CBMWC by telephone prior to travel to confirm their trips departure details and any for any additional information required. Please note mobile phone signal in this area is unreliable.

Please bring your own food (plenty to share, the skipper and researchers particularly like biscuits and cake!), warm clothing, binoculars, sensible shoes and don’t forget your camera.

Please remember that these are wild animals, sightings cannot be guaranteed and that you are joining a scientific survey. The boat used may be subject to change at short notice.

Bottlenose dolphin

Bottlenose dolphin in Cardigan Bay